It’s hard for many of us to sum up the ending of one year and the beginning of the next. There are so many resolutions to be made and forgotten, so many unresolved feelings about the recent past and so many hopes for how to turn everything around in the future, we’re often left tongue-tied. So it often takes people with more wit and mirth than ourselves to put it all into perspective.

In a little more then 7 hours this year will be a distant memory & a new chapter will begin. I don’t think I have ever been this excited to see what is in store this next year. I have though been one of those people who have made resolutions said I am going to do something or change something, and I did … for a little while. Then things just went back to normal, what was easier or what felt more comfortable. Resolutions are like anything else in life, you get out of them what you put into them. You don’t put much in, you are not going to get much out. This year is going to be different. This year I am not going to be making resolutions, I am going to be making promises. Promises are not made to be broken, but meant to be kept.

I am so far from perfect, so I am going to mess up and not do all of these when I should, but I hope that at the end of this year I say goodbye to 2012 knowing I did my best.

I promise to try to …

Learn from every moment, experience & lesson. This year taught me so much, including that there is something that can always be taken away from everything that happens. In the good times & in the difficult. Let my faith be bigger then my fearI need to trust that everything is going to work out the way that it should & we worrying about it is not going to change it. Be the change I want to see in the world. If you know me, you know that I am the first one to say, put up or shut up. Yet there have been many times this year when I didn’t do what I could to make a change (personally and professionally). Stop making excuses & reach my goal weight. The only thing standing in the way of me now & the skinnier version that I want to be is ME! Starting tomorrow no really, I am not just saying that the workouts will be kicked into high gear, the soda will be out, the h2o intake will be up & the daily runs will begin again! Not sweating the small stuff. Hopefully the only sweating I will be doing is in my workouts, not the little things beyond my control or that are not even worth a moment of worry. Make time for the things worth my time & forget those that are not

I am truly blessed. I have a husband who is truly my prince charming, although he comes into save me or help me with a tool belt not a white horse! Three beautiful & healthy kidlets who make my heart full & happy. Family that I know I can always count on & are my true sense of home. Friends who I would not trade for anything in the entire world.

What are your new year promises? What do you hope to accomplish in 2012?!

Happy New Year! 

3 thoughts on “

  1. “Resolutions are like anything else in life, you get out of them what you put into them. You don’t put much in, you are not going to get much out. ” So dang true!
    I am so excited to watch you reach each and every one of your promises for this year, love!

Leave a Reply

