Apparently It’s Just A Behavior Problem?

* WARNING * This momma is not a happy camper when people who think they know everything but are really just ignorant in the subject of autism open their mouths to say my son chooses to behave this way & that is all autism is. 

I knew that sharing what we found out yesterday was going to get some reactions that would make us upset & angry. Although, one of them came from someone I didn’t expect it to and to be honest it’s a good thing that I didn’t hear it or I would have handled it a lot differently then Adam.

Don’t you love the people who think they know everything about everything? I love it how you do not spend a lot of time with my son, you are not a doctor, you are not anything more then every other person who wants to have an opinion or judge how Adam and I handle Aiden. You think you know everything there is to know about autism … Well you just proved how ignorant you are when you say that Aiden chooses to behave this way and it’s just his behavior that needs to be changed. Insert lots of laughing. Yes, there are some parents who let their kids run wild, throw fits & can just ignore them. We however are not those parents. You may see Aiden crying or throwing what seems to be a fit but it is not because he is not getting his way or because we didn’t buy him a toy that he wanted …. but it is probably because something is out of his routine, the sounds around him are too loud or many other things that occur every day in his life.

They make special cards for people like the ignorant ones that we unfortunately have to defend our son and his diagnosis to. Along with the many other people out there who are uneducated when it comes to autism. They say “I apologize if my child was disturbing you. Autism is a neurological disability affecting about 1 and 110 children born today. Behavior that on the surface may seem rude is my child’s only way of dealing with the world. If this is the first time Autism has touched your life, be grateful and please be understanding.

I could go on for hours sharing stories and other’s experiences that our similar to ours. Frankly thought I am getting tired of defending my son. I am getting tired of trying to explain over and over why I am not just letting him have a meltdown and not giving him any kind of consequences. I am tired. I am stressed. I have a lot going on in my tiny world that you may not even know about when you see him having a meltdown, me very stressed trying to finish my grocery shopping and his sisters just along for the ride.

I have many friends who have embraced Aiden. Who love him for who he is, diagnosis or not. They support Adam and I as parents in the decisions we make. They don’t judge us or Aiden. Remember the saying “If you don’t have something nice to say, then don’t say anything at all” …. Well how about If you don’t have anything positive or supportive to say, then please don’t say anything at all. Our family & I am sure every other family who is tired of being judged would appreciate it.

7 thoughts on “Apparently It’s Just A Behavior Problem?

  1. I am right there with you. We have a few Autism shirts that Jakers wears when we go into situations where I am pretty sure he’ll end up with a meltdown. I’ll a take pic and send it to you. Just hold your head up high and remember we are all fighting together us Autism Mamas

    • Love you Megan! I can’t thank you enough for your continued support & love thru this journey! Yes, we are all on this journey together! I would love to see Jake’s shirts!

  2. I love Aiden, you and Adam, and Aiden’s sisters! You are doing a great job raising your family. I’m proud of you! There will be those who don’t get it. They don’t have eyes to see, or ears to hear. Keep on advocating for what Aiden needs. Give him the structure and support he needs. Surround yourselves with those of us who DO get it, and want to help you and Aiden. We will invest in Aiden and your family to see him thrive. He is a GIFT from the Lord above to your family and so many others who will cross his path over this life road we are on.

  3. My God bless you and your sweet Aiden. Autism is a hard thing for people to understand, but it is even harder for the child to deal with on a day to day basis — I believe with loving parents such as yourself Aiden will make great strides. I don’t know you, but my prayers are with you and your family.

Leave a Reply

