Sometimes You Just Need To Laugh

“Kind words can be short and easy to speak, but their echoes are truly endless.”

― Mother Teresa

Everyday is a new challenge, even if it is a great day. It’s not that everyday that Aiden is the challenge, but I can’t tell you the things that we have had to deal with in the past couple of weeks since according to some “publicly announcing Aiden’s diagnosis”. We have lost friends & friendships that I never thought would change because of something as simple as a diagnosis. I mean I know it’s not the diagnosis that caused this particular friendship to end, it was my blog post about ignorant comments that was the reason we are no longer friends. I don’t think a true friendship can be ended by a blog post, because I think it has been coming for a little while now. If you know me then you know that I am who I am and I won’t change because someone else doesn’t like it. Like me. Don’t. It’s your choice. I also will not delete my post because someone who opened their mouth and let their ignorance become a public comment is now embarrassed that it was quoted in a blog post. Sorry, our friendship has now ended, our kids won’t play together anymore but I am not sorry that I stood up for my son.

With that all being said, I can’t thank all of you who have been beyond understanding & supportive enough. I know I say it all the time, but it means so much to Adam and I. We are truly blessed to have such amazing people in our lives. Thank you! 

Then there is the insurance company & my problem with them right now. I will spare you the play by play of them now holding us responsible for all of Aiden’s medical bills from last year. You know, because Adam and I have over $90,000 to pull out of thin air. They wanted a diagnosis a year ago .. my response was “SO DID WE”. I told her that I wanted to know a long time ago what was going on with Aiden. Who knows how all of this is going to work out, but somehow .. someway .. it will.

At the end of the day though, all of this doesn’t matter ok I know it does, but if I worried about it as much as I could be I think my head might explode, I would drive my family nuts, I wouldn’t sleep … Oy, the problems that would come from that! Sometimes you just have to laugh! Sometimes laughter is the only thing that keeps me from crying.

While I was pinteresting I came across some awesome sayings t-shirts about autism. There were too funny not to share! “Keep staring, you might cure my child’s autism. Then we can work on your social skills” .. “Autism is not the tragedy, ignorance is“.

Today I will spend this sunday morning, making some yummy stuffed french toast with strawberries & whipped cream on top .. snuggling with my babies .. cleaning & doing laundry not as much fun, but can’t have my kids going to school tomorrow in their pajamas :) but most of all remembering that everything else is minor & in one way or another will be taken care of.

“Let it be, let it be, let it be, let it beWhisper words of wisdom, let it beAnd when the night is cloudy there is still a light that shines on meShine until tomorrow, let it be.” Leave it to a Beatles  song to sum up what I need to do & remember!

2 thoughts on “Sometimes You Just Need To Laugh

  1. Your posts help to put into persepective the important things in life : ) You and Adam are doing a phenomenal job and all of your children are engaging little joys to be around!

Leave a Reply

