We Have Come Such A Long Way

Some days this is what I feel like!

It’s so important to me to recognize the moments and milestones big or small because it is in those moments that we really need to reflect and remember how far we have come. Sure life is kind of ok .. really stressful right now and we are having to deal with a lot of things we never thought we would have to, but I keep reminding myself that it is what it is & one way or another it will all work out. So in the mean time I have to remember the good moments & let the stress slip away.

Adam took Aiden into the walk in [again] today. I say again because when they went yesterday there was a two hour wait to be seen. I am glad he didn’t stay partly because that would have been asking for a colossal meltdown and also because that is more germs he could of brought home .. no thanks!  So Adam took him back in this morning. Drum roll please … Yet another bad ear infection, so it looks like it’s time for tubes now. Normally another procedure would have me really worried, but I know many kidlets who have gotten them and it has helped so much. I would do about anything to keep these darn ear infections from coming back! This is the third one in the past few weeks. Then we have the fun of finding antibiotics that do not have corn in them.

This afternoon we all went for a trip to what some could call our second home … Target! Had to pick up some stuff not even cool stuff, just meds, paper towel & more vicks vapor rub. Although while I was there I found the cutest owl clutch! Incase you didn’t already know, I have a slight love of all things owls! Anyways, I have to admit I was worried that our trip in Target would end is tears and tantrums. Much to my surprise it went just fine & then we decided we would test of our luck and grab dinner. Not only did Adam and I eat our entire meal while they were still hot, but everyone got along, there were no tears, no tantrums … just giggles and smiles. It was so nice. We used to avoid going out as a family because things were not always that easy. I am sure there are going to be frustrating days, but they really make me appreciate days like today. It was not too long ago that we would avoid going out, we would avoid doing new things or things out of the routine.

It was also not that long ago that I would hate the idea of grocery shopping. It felt like it was going to be such a daunting task & I was always afraid I would miss something in the label reading and give Aiden something he couldn’t have. Now, seven months later grocery shopping no longer makes me feel like I want to pull my hair out or have a meltdown of my own in the middle of the cereal isle. We have developed a list of things that not only can Aiden have, but that he loves. Makes shopping for him much easier, now if we could only minimize how much we have to spend that would be even better!

Through blogging I have met some wonderful people and in my own community in the past year of this journey called food allergies & autism. I can’t tell you how wonderful it is to meet someone who doesn’t look at you with a I have no idea what you are talking about look.

Through blogging I have met two awesome momma’s who write the blog Ventography if you have not checked them out you should! I love their description … “Just Two Mom’s Letting Off Steam”. The first time I visited their blog I instantly knew this was an amazing blog that would become a resource of information but also a place of understanding & a connection to two other awesome mommas!

I read one of their posts recently called Recovering From Recovery written by Molly and it was just what I needed to hear that day. I could not only relate to it, but it was also like I had a DUH! moment. I need to realize that this journey is going to take a lot out of me, Adam, Aiden & the girls that most people who are not on this journey may not understand.

I need to remember that we need to take time to take care of our relationship. Adam and I need to make time to spend time together just the two of us, where the conversation doesn’t revolve around potty training and schedules for the week. Our marriage is far from falling apart, in fact we are in the best place we have ever been, but it’s also in the back of our minds the toll that can be taken on our marriage … “80 percent of marriages that include a child with autism end in divorce”. That is a scary statistic to think about. When we said “for better or for worse, in sickness and in health” there were no clauses or loop holes. We made a commitment to each other but also to our kids. We will do everything in our power to not be a part of that 80%.

As much as I need to take care of my kids and my husband I need to take care of me too. I have spent so much time doing research, meal planning, taking care of sick babies & being a working momma that I have let me slip by the way side. I need to worry about my needs every now & then and make time to get my skinny back. Working out has really been a great stress reliever for me & if it makes me skinnier then all the better. I am ready to ditch these dark circles & unflattering clothes and have my confidence back!

One thought on “We Have Come Such A Long Way

  1. Seems all the walk in clinics are crazy this time of year. When I took Hai into ours the last time, we got there at 4 and didn’t leave until after 8:30. A bring along bag can only distract a kid for so long, let me tell you. I hope the tubes help!

    I’m so glad you guys are finding that groove & are able to get out and do things without having to worry -as much- about meltdowns! :) Love you!

Leave a Reply

