Life Lesson From A Preschooler

I had a blog post written but while reading it over before posting it Hailey came up to me and said something that rocked my world … “Momma. Aiden is really frustrating me right now & he was killing me nuts. That is her way of saying driving me nuts. I remember when you said that when something or someone bothers you to stop & count your blessings. Then you won’t let it bother you so much. It’s because you have so many blessings.” It’s not often, but she can leave me speechless. That moment left me speechless. She went to her room for a few minutes and came back to me and said “I feel much better, but I lost count of my blessing because I have so many. Ok. I am going to go play now.”

As I sat at the table eating my cereal I could not help but think how amazing she is & also that it would be hypocritical to not do what I told her to do. I will be honest the post I had written was written out of frustration from the past couple of days of kiddos who aren’t listening, pushing every button possible, meltdowns, a fiasco of a preschool spring concert & being sick. She is right, even in those moments I forgot to count my blessings. I would not have had those moments this weekend if I didn’t have the amazing kiddos that we have.

One of my favorites quotes has always been “I believe that everything happens for a reason. People change so that you can learn to let go, things go wrong so that you appreciate them when they’re right & sometimes good things fall apart so better things can fall together”. This morning I have been trying to count each and every blessing even if I don’t see it as a blessing right now.

There are a lot of things going on right now that I definitely didn’t count as blessings. I need to stop and remember that those things couldn’t happen without those people in my life. That in itself is a blessing, definitely worth counting.

Leave a Reply

