Mamavation Monday

Can’t believe it is time to write another mamavation post already! This week has really flown by. All in all though it has been a good week. Things were pretty busy and at times a tad crazy at casa de Habegger. The kids school schedule was off due to early release, so that made things even more interesting, but we survived & spent lots of quality time together.

I am really getting used to all of the kiddos being in school. It has been extremely nice to be able to go to the Y almost everyday this week and get some good runs in. In fact this would be the first week of workouts since leaving mamavation. I had been really lax about not only my workouts but also what I was eating. Trust me the scale may not have always reflected it, but I sure noticed. Thankfully in the few months I took off my weight didn’t change more then a few pounds.

The “fun” is over now and workouts and runs are in full swing. I even got in an even 50 burpees this week in honor of @Gruntstyle‘s birthday aka Drill Sargent Daniel Alarik. I posted a happy birthday on his facebook page and told him in honor of his birthday I would not complain about doing burpees. I knew that comment would mean I would end up doing more then I originally planned on doing & I did. Those 50 killed my abs, legs and arms but before I met him there is no way I would have been able to kick those out without feeling like I was going to die. Thank you Daniel for always pushing me, my skinnier body thanks you! 

I am trying really hard to not get on the scale, because I feel like every time I do I let me reaction to the number reflected, determine how I feel about the progress I have made. At the end of the day, that number is just a number. It doesn’t define who I am as a person. It also doesn’t determine how my clothes are going to fit. Today, I wore my favorite pair of American Eagle kakis that I have not worn in a long time. Not only did they fit better then they did even when I bought them, but I had to tighten my belt to keep them from falling off.  I don’t even care right now what the scale says because I know I am back on track & closer to my goal.

NSV’s For The Week: I am currently wearing a shirt that is … a SMALL ok yes, it is a men’s small, but the fact that I am wearing a small anything is something worth screaming about! I had planned on beating my goal running 15 miles this week, but due to unplanned sickness I wasn’t able to meet or beat my goal, but I am planning on beating it next week!! I did get in 11.6 miles this week! Not to shabby for my first week back into workouts.

Have a fabulous week everyone!

This post is sponsored by New Balance Shoes and hosted by Mamavation – a community dedicated to obesity prevention & weight loss for women and I’m writing this to be entered into a giveaway.

30 thoughts on “Mamavation Monday

  1. I am so glad to have you back… Yes see I just simply told him Happy Birthday lol… I know how much he enjoys trying to crush me. Good job getting back into the swing of working out… Can’t wait to see how far you go!

    • Thanks Meagan! I had a feeling it would be coming :) My goal is to be getting that many in everyday, but I won’t tell him that or he will be increasing them on me everyday!

  2. Way to go Rachel! I’m so excited to have you back, not that you were really gone, but I love seeing you here focusing on yourself.
    Small! Wow and even tightening your belt!
    Don’t worry about your scale if you are seeing results. <3 ya.

    • Love you too Amanda! Yes, noticeable results mean way more then a number! There may be a positive to all of Aiden’s food allergies haha, I have to read every label before we buy anything :)

  3. Wow, way to go to get back in the game. You just dove right in. It is really great when the kids are in school and you just have that “me” time. Hope you have a great week!

    • Thanks! It feels so good to be back in the game! :) At first I felt a little lost without them. I left my job, became a SAHM again and now they are in school, but it makes it easier to get my workouts in and then be able to focus on them when they are home! Have a great week!

    • Thanks Amanda! That is what I am saying! I am afraid what he will want next year lol! :) In the end, it will be burpees that help get my sexy back! Even though I have a love/hate relationship with them, they do get results!

    • I love you!! :) I know right, I couldn’t believe it either! I will try tomorrow when I have had more then a couple hours of sleep to snap a current picture.

  4. Glad to see you! Small? Take it. Celebrate it and smile. Every step is a good one and love that you are doing the burpees still. :)

  5. Great job. Glad to have you back. Those burpees are a killer but starting to like them. My new fav is the russian twist (also know as a c twist) workout. have a great week

    • Thanks Marie! It’s good to be back! Yes, they are killers that I was feeling for days after I did them. I will have to check out the russian twist! Sounds interesting! :)

  6. haha Yeah, that scale can be a killer, can’t it?! You’re right though — it’s just a number and totally doesn’t determine how you feel or how things fit. When I’m not happy with what the scale says, I just re-measure and typically I am happy with THOSE numbers ;) Well, until I started gaining weight BACK, but that was because I got lazy and totally dropped working out period. I’m in awe of you running all those miles this week. Me? I did a shabby mile — a brisk walk with a little bit of jogging. :/ I want to be like you when I grow up :) No, seriously — great job. Keep up the good work!!


    Kat Robertson
    http://www.iheart7.com

    • You can be like me :) I am so disappointed in myself that I used to run cross country & now running a few miles a day is something worth celebrating lol. You didn’t just do a shabby mile .. You rocked a mile! Movement is movement! The more you move the more calories you are burning. Any movement you are doing is more then you would be doing if you were sitting on the couch :) Have you looked at C25k plans? They are awesome when you are getting back into running or even walking.

      The scale and I have a serious love/hate relationship with the scale. Right now, I am happy with us not seeing each other! We all have up’s and down’s. You will get there!

Leave a Reply

