Mamavation Monday: Taking Baby Steps Towards A Big Change

It has been far too long since my last Mamavation Monday post! I am so sorry for the lack of updates and scale pictures. Not much has really changed update wise or in my scale pictures but I will catch you up on everything!

I have been taking a little bit of a break from checking in with the scale. I was feeling like I was starting to get too wrapped up in the number that it would show. I was feeling like I wasn’t happy enough with the number. I felt like after loosing almost 100 pounds that I would be excited to see a much smaller number. I thought that I would be happy, all of the time about that. Thing is that now I feel like if it isn’t going down, I am not doing something right. I have been running, for the most part watching what I am eating and trying to get my daily steps in. I think that a universal problem we have when it come to weight loss is, that if it’s not happening instantaneously then we give up because we don’t see the results. We feel like if we don’t see results then it must not be working.

I am starting to feel like that right now with toning. One side effect of loosing a lot of weight is the extra skin that you now have. Sounds like an easy problem to have, and it is compared to weighing an additional 100 pounds. I just HATE looking in the mirror now though and seeing it. I have a mix of emotions. Disappointment that my weight got that out of hand. Hope for the future because I have had such improvement with my weight and health in the last twelve months. Then there is the frustration of feeling like I am not going to be able to ditch this extra skin, wear a bikini again or feel sexy in any clothes again. I am really looking forward to the day that I feel totally confident and comfortable in my own skin.

In the mean time though …. I am ready for some new changes. I feel like you can’t change everything at once or nothing will work. For me I would just get completely overwhelmed & give up. Since I have this whole working out thing under control now it’s time to handle and change what I/we as a family eat. Last night I posted about one big change, no more fast food. We are going to take the plunge and do paleo & primal in addition to gluten free. Even as I typed this I took a deep breath like I needed to convince myself that I could do this. I don’t know what I am afraid of, I can do it. I think it’s just going to take a lot of planning and patience on my end.

Have you ever tried paleo, gluten free, primal or all of the above? Do you have any advice for a newbie like me?

Current weight is at: 136.8 {I had a 2.8 gain since my last weigh in} I am going to try to not stress about it. It could be from a number of things, and a number does not define who I am.

scale picture 3.9.13

In case you missed it, this week I wrote a post for anyone who was thinking about applying to be a Mamavation mom in the next or future campaigns. A lot of you have mentioned that there is something holding you back from applyin. I shared my story & hopefully it will help you in your decision weather to apply or not.

“This post is sponsored by Mamavation – a community dedicated to obesity prevention & weight loss for women and I’m writing this to be entered into a giveaway

18 thoughts on “Mamavation Monday: Taking Baby Steps Towards A Big Change

  1. I think I’m too wrapped up with the number on the scales, and “know” that whether he scales are going down or not, I should be concentrating more on if I’m losing inches and my clothes are getting too big. I play these head games with myself. It’s the reason I haven’t started weight/strength training yet. Because I know the scales go up for me when I do, and I have a hard time seeing the number go up after working so hard to get it down. Sigh. I’ve never tried a paleo diet but have heard good things. Good luck and kudos to you for cutting out fast food!

  2. I have heard many things about Paleo and would like to try it but I know something, when they tell me I cannot eat something I really crave it. So I rather be on a plan that I can eat a little bit of everything but in moderation. Good luck

    • Thank you so much Monica! That is my fear. I am not doing traditional paleo because we aren’t giving up grains, dairy or raw honey. I think that ANYTHING that eliminates fast foods, increases fresh veggies, fruits & lean meats is ok in my book. We are trying to do meatless mondays. That will decrease the amount of meat we eat. Fingers crossed we can do this. :):)

  3. I know how you feel about losing weight and then the number stalling. I know exactly how you feel. But everybody hits plateaus and making the food changes will make a big difference. As far as gluten free, start simple. Start with things like lean meats in the crock pot and roasted veggies. Things you already eat that are gluten free….homemade sweet potato fries and a burger with feta cheese and no bun is one of my favorite meals these days. Fritattas, salmon salad, soup, chili, quinoa. You can do this!

    • Your reply just made me so hungry :) Love you long time Greta! Thank you so much for your help! I am sure I will be coming to you soon for meal ideas.

  4. My advice is http://marksdailyapple.com – there’s so much info and a forum and the http://paleohacks.com for questions and things. I read The Primal Blueprint (got it from the library F paying) and I’m going to get Everyday Paleo when it comes out. I also need to get the Whole 30 book. Right now I’ve been using The Gabriel Method (my late fees keep the library open) to kind of do some guided meditation on being smaller, too, and it has worked wonders. Not so much on my weight, but on my body shape (Yes, I’m totally aware that sounds woowoo and crazy, just so you know I know you know I know you know.) But taking a break from the scale can be smart. It’s totally where I’m at right now. It’s just too overwhelming. (And I haven’t lost almost 100lbs!)

    • I love you Jenny Decki! I want to try whole 30 too. I feel like it wouldn’t be Rachel Habegger style to follow the rules 100%. After all why not mix all of these programs together and make my own :):) xo

  5. I cannot even imagine losing that much weight but know there are a community of people who have and connect to each other. It is a different world with the loose skin and that accomplishment then wondering where to go from there. Off the top of my head I know of Prior Fat Girl who had removal surgery and Tara from A Life Changing Journey who has gone on to lead some powerful sessions to connect this community. Good luck with defining your new success – you are amazing.

  6. I think it’s great that you are taking a step not to eat fast foods anymore. I know it’s hard, but you’ll get through it. I used to eat out a lot, but this past month and a half, I’ve been eating a lot healthier. Now, when I do eat out, it kind of grosses me out and I actually feel guilty. Today, I went grocery shopping and most of what I bought were fruits and vegetables. That’s definitely a huge difference than what I used to buy before.

    • Good for you Jackie! After our last experience it was a lot easier to make something at home! This weekend it’s grocery shopping time, I am for once prepared with meal plans for the next two weeks. The kids even said the other night when I said I was going to make “crunchy coconut chicken fingers” they said “that sounds way better then happy meal chicken nuggets”. Score! :) The gave eating at home a “restaurant” name so it wouldn’t feel like we were giving something up. Love it when they think eating at “Momma’s Rockin Kitchen” is better.

Leave a Reply

